rmitintstudentguidetoliving

for all new international students

types of eggs you will find in a cafe


In Melbourne there are many cafes, all serving the same sort of breakfast foods until about 2pmish or 3pmish sometimes later than 4pm. This is not uncommon for cafes to serve breakfast until this late. So you need to know what each is in order to know what to order. There are four kinds of eggs that you can order.

1. Scrambled- they use milk and it is usually mixed in with the egg. Not good for those that can’t have dairy as it contains milk. It is easy to make at home in the microwave.
2. Poached- they just boil it. It is a just a normal hard boiled egg. You usually have this with hollandaise sauce which tastes buttery. This is popular in cafes and some restaurants.
3. Omelette- it is like scrambled eggs except they put things in there and its skinnier. You can have it with ham, onions, vegetarian etc.
4. Fried- you usually have it sunny side up. And it is fried in lots of oil. It usually comes with bacon and toast.

Student study place @1000 pound bend


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1000 pound bend is known for a really good place to study and have a great coffee. In fact it has been talked about for some time by the uni students. Now is this true that there is good coffee? I asked my good friends Katherine give a spiel on the place itself since she went there with her good friend just recently.

Atmosphere: “Very homely and free WI-FI. Yay! Now I call that a good study place”, says Katherine.

“They do heaps of cool and exciting events here” said another friend who Katherine went with.

“It’s a bar as well”, said another friend, “Yay! We can have parties here!”

Service: ” Great, but you have to wait a while for your coffee to come out. But if you have time on your hands you can sit and relax whilst your coffee is brewing”. said Katherine. “And I didn’t like the wait”.

Coffee: “IT’s fricking GREAT!!!!! Am yet to try the food, but will do it one day ” says Katherine.

And we’ll let you know how that visit went. To read a more detailed version of this, click on: http://newintstudents.blogspot.com/2012/01/coffee-1000-pound-bend.html
1000 Pound Bend on Urbanspoon

Eat @ City Blue Fish with Big Fil


I had a chance to meet up with Big Fil from eat and be merry for tomorrow we diet. We decided to meet here because it was one of Big Fil’s favourite places and we were in the mood for fish and chips. There are not that many fish and chip shops in the city where he and I work. It was a little dark when I came and it looks like a suburban fish and chip shop.

Big Fil felt that this place has gone a little bit downhill since the last time he visited. But this is my first time and from what I saw they were a little bit understaffed. A bit quiet though for my liking. From what I saw on Urbanspoon this place only had two people voting for it. So maybe it was just brand new?
Fil had the grilled calamari and I had the Fisherman’s basket which included my choice of soft drink ($9.90 for a big serve).  I didn’t really like the calamari. It was a little chewy, hence I thought that it wasn’t fresh.  The chips were alright, but they were a bit tasteless without the salt (good for those that are losing weight). The seafood stick, although I liked it was a little sweet. The tartare sauce could do with a bit more mayonnaise ( it was a little tasteless, sorry Fil). The fish and potato cake was just ok.
Fil is writing up his review of the place. But I’d probably come only because I have to, not because I want to (sorry Fil- the quality was a little bit lacklustre).

City Blue Fish on Urbanspoon

coffee @ 1000 pound bend


1000 pound bend is a huge coffee warehouse right in the middle of the city. One my uni friends recommended this place to me. She said that there is “a lot going on in this place”. There are a lot of events going on here.

They have free wi-fi. My guess is that this place is a student place where students can hang and work at their own pace. It has comfortable couches and heaps of large tables. You can pick up heaps of free publications about Melbourne on one of their tables. One of the guides you can pick up is “Safari Petes Guide to Melbourne” which has lots of useful info on Melbourne as well as discount vouchers.

This place is a bar as well as a good coffee place. They are open from 8am-11pm. And why I say its good is because they made my espresso ($2.50 in the morning rush) really good and strong. And it did not have a burnt feeling to it. I also got a croissant ($4 or $5) which would have been a bit nicer if it was toasted. But it was still fresh though.
The Kiwi that served me was nice though…. but I did have a long while to wait for coffee :(.
It’s a nice place to go to and I’d sure love to try out their food at some stage. Thanks to the friend that recommended the place to me.

1000 Pound Bend on Urbanspoon